Business Analysis Certificate: Types, Real Costs and Which to Pick
“Business analysis certificate” can mean a university continuing-education program, an online professional certificate or an exam-based credential from a professional body. They differ in price, time and what they prove. This guide explains the three types, shows a real example of each with its costs and requirements, and gives you a way to choose.
What business analysis is
Business analysis is the work of finding out what an organization needs and recommending solutions that deliver value. Business analysts interview stakeholders, define requirements, model processes and help check the result. For a full description of the job, read the business analyst job description.
Programs usually teach the same core skills: understanding the problem, eliciting requirements, modeling and communicating them, and supporting delivery. They differ mainly in depth, cost and how well employers know them.
Three types of certificate
| Type | Who issues it | Best for | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|
| University continuing-education certificate | A university’s professional studies unit | People who want structured, instructor-led training from a known institution. | Higher cost. Check whether it earns academic credit. |
| Online professional certificate | A company through a learning platform | Beginners who want a low-cost, flexible start with tool practice. | Usually not academic credit. Recognition varies. |
| Professional certification | A professional body such as IIBA or PMI | Showing independently assessed knowledge, often tied to experience. | Experience rules, exam fees and renewal. |
Example: a university certificate
The University of Minnesota’s College of Continuing & Professional Studies offers a Business Analysis Certificate. We use it as an example, not a recommendation.
| Detail | As listed on the program page |
|---|---|
| Format | Fully online |
| Structure | 6 required courses plus 1 elective chosen from 4 options |
| Hours | 60 contact hours; 6.0 CEUs |
| Required courses | Introduction to Business Analysis; Identifying Opportunities (strategic analysis, business case, solution scoping); Collaborating for Success (stakeholder analysis and eliciting requirements); Analyzing and Modeling Requirements; Modern Requirements Communication, Documentation and Validation; Business Analysis Planning and Estimating |
| Elective options | Strategic and Mindful Communications; Introduction to Agile; Technical Writing; The Kanban Method |
| Total cost | $4,730 to $4,780, depending on the elective; up to a 10% discount for registering and paying for all courses at once |
| Time | As little as 3 months |
| Prerequisites | None listed |
The page lists the certificate under professional development and awards contact hours and CEUs, not academic credits. We checked the arithmetic: the six required courses cost $4,290, and an elective adds $440 or $490. Prices can change, so confirm on the university’s page.
Example: an online professional certificate
The IBM Business Analyst Professional Certificate is offered on Coursera. You can view it on Coursera. As listed there:
| Detail | As listed |
|---|---|
| Format | 8-course series, online, self-paced |
| Level | Beginner |
| Courses | Introduction to Business Analysis; Excel Basics for Data Analysis; Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos; Process Modeling and Requirements Gathering; Project and Stakeholder Management; Preparation Exam for ECBA Certification; Capstone Project; Generative AI for business analysis techniques |
| Listed course hours | 113 hours in total (our sum of the course estimates) |
| Time estimate | The page gives different estimates in different places (about 12 weeks at 5 hours a week, and about 3 to 6 months in the FAQ). Plan on a few months. |
| Prerequisites | No prior experience required; basic computer skills and working knowledge of Word, Excel and PowerPoint recommended |
| Tools named | Excel, IBM Cognos Analytics, Looker Studio, Lucidchart |
| University credit | Not at this time, per the page |
| Cost | The page does not state a certificate fee; it says the program is included with a Coursera Plus subscription and that financial aid is available. Check the price at checkout. |
One course prepares you for the ECBA exam (see below). That is useful, but the exam itself is separate and is run by IIBA.
For other options, browse courses on Coursera and Udemy. We may earn a commission if you sign up, at no cost to you. We are not affiliated with any university.
Examples: professional certifications
Two professional bodies run well-known business analysis certifications. Rules can change, so confirm them on the source sites.
IIBA (International Institute of Business Analysis)
| Certification | Experience IIBA lists |
|---|---|
| ECBA (Entry Certificate in Business Analysis) | No years stated; for people ready to develop their business analysis skills |
| CCBA (Certification of Capability in Business Analysis) | Two to three years of practical business analysis work experience |
| CBAP (Certified Business Analysis Professional) | Over five years of practical business analysis work experience |
See also the business analyst job description, where these are covered alongside the daily duties.
PMI Professional in Business Analysis (PMI-PBA)
PMI’s PMI-PBA page lists three eligibility paths and a 200-question, 240-minute exam:
| Your education | Business analysis experience | Training |
|---|---|---|
| Secondary degree (high school diploma, associate’s or equivalent) | 60 months, earned in the last 8 years | 35 contact hours in business analysis practices |
| Bachelor’s degree or higher (or equivalent) | 36 months, earned in the last 8 years | 35 contact hours in business analysis practices |
| Bachelor’s or postgraduate degree from a GAC-accredited program (or equivalent) | At least 24 months of unique, non-overlapping experience | 35 contact hours of formal education |
The exam covers needs assessment (18%), planning (22%), analysis (35%), traceability and monitoring (15%) and evaluation (10%). Renewal requires 60 professional development units in each three-year cycle. These are experienced-practitioner credentials, so they are a later step for most beginners.
Side-by-side comparison
| University CE certificate (Minnesota example) | Online certificate (IBM example) | ECBA (entry) | PMI-PBA | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | $4,730–$4,780 | Not stated; check Coursera | Exam fee; see IIBA | Exam fee; see PMI |
| Time | As little as 3 months | A few months, self-paced | Study plus an exam | Study plus an exam |
| Experience needed | None listed | None | None stated | 24–60 months |
| Academic credit | CEUs, not academic credit | No | No | No |
| Best for | Structured, instructor-led learning | Beginners who want tool practice | A first credential | Experienced analysts |
What you will learn
- Strategy and business cases: why a change is worth making.
- Stakeholder analysis: who is affected and how.
- Eliciting requirements: interviews, workshops, observation.
- Modeling: process maps and diagrams. See what a business process is.
- Documenting and validating requirements: clear, testable statements.
- Planning and estimating: scoping the analysis work itself.
- Tools: spreadsheets, dashboards and diagram software.
For related paths, read about project management certificates and business intelligence certificates. The skills overlap in many roles. See also business analyst skills.
Jobs and pay: what the data shows
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) has no page titled “business analyst.” The closest occupations are management analysts and computer systems analysts.
| BLS occupation | Median pay (May 2025) | Jobs, 2025 | Projected growth, 2025–2035 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Management analysts | $101,860 | 1,077,100 | 10% |
| Computer systems analysts | $105,850 | 544,400 | 8% |
BLS says a bachelor’s degree is the typical entry-level education for both, and it describes the growth rates as much faster than average. These figures describe the occupations, not any certificate, and a certificate does not guarantee a job. More detail is in the job description guide and business analyst career.
How to choose
| Your situation | A sensible start |
|---|---|
| Complete beginner on a budget | An online professional certificate, then a small portfolio project. |
| Want live teaching and a known institution | A university continuing-education certificate. |
| Want a recognized entry credential | The ECBA, after studying the core concepts. |
| Already working as an analyst | CCBA, CBAP or PMI-PBA, once you meet the experience rules. |
| Moving from another field | Pick a course, then apply analysis skills at your current job to build proof. |
Questions to ask any program
- What is the total cost, including exam and renewal fees?
- Who teaches it, and is there feedback on my work?
- Will I produce real deliverables, such as a requirements document or process model?
- Does it carry academic credit, CEUs, or neither?
- Does it prepare me for an exam, and is the exam included?
Steps to get started
- Read the job description and decide whether the work suits you.
- Choose one program type using the table above.
- Practice on a real process. Map how your team handles one task and write three requirements to improve it.
- Build a portfolio. A process map, a requirements document and a short business case, with private details removed.
- Add an exam credential when it matches your experience.
- Search entry-level titles: junior business analyst, associate analyst, operations analyst.
Frequently asked questions
What is a business analysis certificate?
A credential showing you completed training in business analysis, or passed an exam. It can come from a university, an online platform or a professional body.
How much does a business analysis certificate cost?
It varies. The University of Minnesota example lists $4,730 to $4,780. The IBM certificate on Coursera is included with a Coursera Plus subscription, and the page does not state a separate fee. Professional exam fees vary by body.
How long does it take?
The Minnesota example can take as little as three months. The IBM program is self-paced and takes a few months. Professional certifications depend on how long you study.
Do I need experience?
Not for the two training examples above. The ECBA lists no experience years, while the CCBA, CBAP and PMI-PBA require work experience.
Is a business analysis certificate worth it?
It can help show your knowledge, especially early in your career. It does not guarantee a job, and employers also look at experience and examples of your work.
What is the difference between ECBA and CBAP?
The ECBA is IIBA’s entry-level certificate with no experience years stated. The CBAP is for experienced practitioners and lists over five years of business analysis work experience.
Which should I choose, IIBA or PMI?
IIBA focuses on business analysis as a profession. PMI’s credential comes from the project management world. Check which one appears in job postings that you want.
Browse certificate, course and degree programs side by side.
