Contract Management Programs: Certificates, Degrees and Professional Certifications
A contract management program can mean a university graduate certificate, a master’s degree, a short professional course or a credential from a professional body. They differ a great deal in cost, time and what employers make of them. This guide explains what contract managers do, the main types of program, what one real graduate certificate costs, how the two best-known professional bodies certify contract managers, and how to choose.
What contract managers do
Contract managers handle agreements between an organization and its suppliers, customers or partners. The work runs from planning and sourcing, through negotiation and award, to administering the contract and closing it out. Along the way they manage terms, deliverables, changes, risk and compliance.
The same ideas appear in several of our guides: how a statement of work defines the scope of an agreement, how contract lifecycle management keeps agreements on track, how to prevent contract scope creep, and what poor contract management costs. If you are weighing the job itself, see the contract administrator job description.
Jobs and pay: what the data shows
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics does not publish a single “contract manager” category. The closest group it tracks is purchasing managers, buyers and purchasing agents, whose listed duties include negotiating contracts for their organization and monitoring contract compliance. For that combined group, BLS reports:
| Measure (BLS) | Figure |
|---|---|
| Median annual pay, May 2025 | $81,670 for the group; $77,710 for buyers and purchasing agents; $148,080 for purchasing managers |
| Projected employment growth, 2025–2035 | 6 percent |
| Typical entry education | Bachelor’s degree (some employers hire with a high school diploma; purchasing managers also need several years of related experience) |
These numbers describe a broader group than contract management alone, so treat them as context, not a forecast for any certificate. BLS also notes that optional certification in areas such as procurement can help show competency.
Types of contract management program
| Type | Typical length | Best for | Watch for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Short online course | Hours to weeks | Learning the basics or a specific topic such as drafting or negotiation. | Quality varies; a course certificate is not an independent certification. |
| University graduate certificate | Several courses (see the example below) | Professionals who want graduate-level credit without a full master’s. | Tuition is per credit, and fees may be extra. Credits may or may not count toward a later degree. |
| Master’s degree | Varies by school and pace | Moving into senior acquisition or contracting roles. | The largest cost and time commitment. Compare accreditation and total cost. |
| Professional certification | Study period plus an exam or assessment | Showing independently assessed knowledge, often valued across employers. | Eligibility, fees and renewal rules differ by body. Check the current handbook. |
Many people combine them: a graduate certificate or course for structured learning, and a professional certification as an independent check. For other program types, see our programs hub and the guides to graduate programs.
An example: one graduate certificate
The University of Maryland Global Campus (UMGC) publishes an Acquisition and Contract Management graduate certificate. At the time of writing its page lists:
| Item | As listed |
|---|---|
| Credits | 18, taught online (some hybrid courses available); up to 6 transfer credits accepted |
| Tuition per credit | $555 in-state, $659 out-of-state, $336 military; other fees may apply |
| Tuition for 18 credits (our arithmetic) | About $9,990 in-state, $11,862 out-of-state, $6,048 military, before fees |
| Courses | A 6-credit foundation course, plus core courses on acquisition planning and cost and price analysis, and on sourcing decisions and legal considerations in contracting |
| Grade rule | B or better required to advance in these courses |
| Focus | Government contracting, including service, research and development, and information technology contracts |
The program page also says it is designed to help prepare students for federal acquisition certification exams (it names FAC-COR and FAC-C) and that its credits may apply toward the school’s master’s degree in the same field. Its page does not state prerequisites, so ask admissions. Treat the numbers as one data point from one school, and confirm current prices on its site. Other schools price and structure similar programs differently.
Professional certifications: NCMA
The National Contract Management Association (NCMA) offers four credentials, earned through a combination of education and practical experience:
| Credential | Focus |
|---|---|
| Certified Professional Contract Manager (CPCM) | A general contract management credential tied to NCMA’s Contract Management Body of Knowledge. |
| Certified Federal Contract Manager (CFCM) | Knowledge from the federal perspective, centered on the Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR). |
| Certified Commercial Contract Manager (CCCM) | Knowledge of contract management in the commercial sector, including the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC). |
| Commercial and Contract Management Associate (CCMA) | A certificate based on the Contract Management Standard. |
NCMA’s certification overview does not list eligibility rules, exam details or fees; those are in its separate handbooks for each credential, so read the current handbook before you plan your study.
Professional certifications: WorldCC
World Commerce & Contracting (WorldCC) runs a four-level Commercial and Contract Management (CCM) certification program. At the time of writing it lists:
| Level | Learning | Assessment | Listed fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Associate | 16 hours; no prerequisites | 60-minute closed-book assessment; 80 percent to pass | From $780 |
| Practitioner | 80 hours | 2-hour online exam, about 100 questions | From $1,495 |
| Advanced Practitioner | 60 hours | 2-hour online exam, about 100 questions | From $1,495 |
| Expert | 6–9 months; WorldCC members only | Business case for change on a real commercial issue, written submission and expert-panel presentation | $995 |
The page gives a 12-month access window for the Practitioner and Advanced Practitioner programs, with most candidates finishing in about six months or less. It does not state how long a credential stays valid, so ask WorldCC before you pay.
Federal, commercial or both?
The right credential depends on where you work. Federal contracting runs on the Federal Acquisition Regulation, and NCMA’s CFCM is built around it; programs that focus on government acquisition, like the graduate certificate above, fit that path. Commercial contracting between companies is governed largely by contract law and, in the United States, the Uniform Commercial Code, which is the territory of the CCCM. A general credential such as the CPCM, or a cross-industry program like WorldCC’s, suits people who move between sectors. This page describes what each body publishes; it is not legal advice, and the rules that apply to your contracts depend on your jurisdiction and industry.
How to choose a program
| Question | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Federal, commercial or mixed work? | Match the program and credential to the rules you actually work under. |
| Who issues the credential? | An accredited school or professional body is easier for employers to evaluate than a generic course certificate. |
| What is the full cost? | Add tuition or course fees, exam fees, materials, membership and renewal. Per-credit prices hide the total. |
| Do credits transfer or stack? | Ask whether certificate credits count toward a later master’s degree, and how many outside credits are accepted. |
| What are the prerequisites? | Some programs are open to anyone. Professional certifications often combine education and experience. |
| Do target employers want it? | Read job postings for the roles you want and see which credentials they name. |
Online course options
If you want to test the field before committing to a full program, online marketplaces carry contract management and negotiation courses from universities and independent instructors. Quality and recognition vary, so read the syllabus and instructor background first.
Disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. VillanovaU is an independent guide and is not affiliated with NCMA, WorldCC, any university or the platforms listed. Prices and program details come from each provider’s published pages at the time of writing and may change.
Steps to get started
- Learn the vocabulary. Read our guides to the statement of work and contract lifecycle.
- Decide your sector. Federal, commercial or mixed work points to different programs and credentials.
- Compare two or three programs using the checklist in section 7, and write down exactly what each price includes.
- Check credential handbooks. For NCMA and WorldCC, read the current eligibility, exam and renewal rules before you pay.
- Add adjacent skills. Contract managers often work with project teams, so a project management certificate can complement the role, and our guide to project scope creep shows where the two overlap.
Teams that work in agile environments should also read how to design an agile contract.
Frequently asked questions
What is a contract management program?
It is a course of study, such as a graduate certificate, degree or professional course, that teaches how to plan, negotiate, administer and close contracts. Separate professional certifications, such as those from NCMA and WorldCC, assess knowledge independently of any school.
How much does a contract management certificate cost?
It varies widely. One online graduate certificate lists 18 credits at $555 per credit in-state, which is about $9,990 in tuition before fees. WorldCC lists its Associate certification from $780 and its Practitioner level from $1,495. Always confirm current prices.
What certifications are available for contract managers?
NCMA offers the CPCM, CFCM, CCCM and CCMA. WorldCC offers Associate, Practitioner, Advanced Practitioner and Expert levels in its Commercial and Contract Management program.
What is the difference between CFCM and CCCM?
NCMA describes the CFCM as covering contract management from the federal perspective, centered on the Federal Acquisition Regulation, and the CCCM as covering the commercial sector, including the Uniform Commercial Code.
Do I need a degree to become a contract manager?
Not always, but BLS lists a bachelor’s degree as the typical entry education for purchasing managers, buyers and purchasing agents, the closest group it tracks, and some employers hire with a high school diploma. Requirements for contract-specific roles vary by employer.
How much do contract and purchasing professionals earn?
For the BLS group of purchasing managers, buyers and purchasing agents, the median annual pay was $81,670 in May 2025, with purchasing managers at $148,080. This is a broader group than contract managers, and a certificate does not guarantee a salary.
Is contract management a good career?
BLS projects 6 percent growth for the purchasing group from 2025 to 2035, faster than average for all occupations. Whether it suits you depends on your interest in negotiation, risk and detailed administration.
Browse certificate, course and degree programs side by side.
