Master of Public Administration (MPA): Costs, Accreditation and Careers
A Master of Public Administration (MPA) prepares you to manage organizations that serve the public: government agencies, nonprofits and public-interest groups. Programs differ widely in price, length and quality. This guide explains what an MPA covers, how it compares with similar degrees, what two real online programs cost and require, why accreditation matters, and what the job data says.
What an MPA is
An MPA is a professional master’s degree for people who run or want to run public service organizations. It is to government and nonprofit work roughly what an MBA is to business.
Graduates typically work in city and county government, state and federal agencies, nonprofits, health and education organizations, and public-interest groups. Many students already work in these fields and study part time. For related reading, see our guides to types of political systems and corporate social responsibility jobs.
What you study
Both programs below combine the same building blocks. Course titles differ, but the subjects are similar:
- Public administration theory and practice: how public organizations work and why.
- Budgeting and financial management: how public money is planned, spent and tracked.
- Organizational analysis: how public and nonprofit organizations are structured and managed.
- Public human resource management: hiring, pay and workforce rules in the public sector. Compare our HR master’s degree guide.
- Policy and economics: how policy is made and judged.
- Data analytics and research methods: using evidence to evaluate programs.
- Practicum and capstone: applied work that ties the degree together.
MPA vs. related degrees
Several degrees overlap. The labels below are general descriptions; each school sets its own curriculum, so read the course list.
| Degree | Typical emphasis | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| MPA (public administration) | Managing public and nonprofit organizations: budgets, people, operations. | Aspiring managers and directors in government and nonprofits. |
| MPP (public policy) | Analyzing and evaluating policy, with more quantitative methods. | Policy analysts and researchers. |
| MBA | Managing for-profit businesses: accounting, finance, marketing, strategy. | Business careers. See our HR master’s vs. MBA comparison. |
| Nonprofit management master’s | Fundraising, governance and program management in nonprofits. | Those set on nonprofit leadership. |
Example: a 36-credit online MPA
Louisiana State University offers an online MPA through LSU Online. At the time of writing, its page lists:
| Item | As listed |
|---|---|
| Credits | 36 (27 core and 9 elective) |
| Tuition | $730 per credit; $26,280 total with fees, excluding transfer credit and financial aid. Fees may vary |
| Core topics | Microeconomic theory, data analytics (two courses), public policy, organizational analysis, public human resource management, budgeting and financial management, practicum, capstone |
| Admission | Bachelor’s degree; 3.0 GPA; statement of purpose; three recommendation letters; resume. No GRE or GMAT required |
| Accreditation | Page states the MPA is accredited by NASPAA |
| Length | Not stated; four start dates a year |
Example: a 42-credit online MPA
The University of New Mexico offers an online MPA. The page we reviewed lists:
| Item | As listed |
|---|---|
| Credits | 42 (21 core, 3 practicum, 15 electives, 3 capstone, paper or thesis); a B or better in each course |
| Tuition | $696.90 per credit; regular tuition and fees apply, including differential tuition. At that rate 42 credits would be about $29,270 before fees (our arithmetic) |
| Format | Asynchronous, with 16-week classes and no required meeting times |
| Admission | Bachelor’s degree; 3.0 GPA; letter of intent; three recommendation letters; resume; transcripts; application fee |
| Accreditation | Described as a NASPAA-accredited online MPA |
| Length | Not stated |
The UNM page we saw still showed 2024 dates, so its rate may be out of date. Always confirm current prices with the program.
Notice the difference: 36 versus 42 credits, and about $26,000 versus about $29,000 in tuition. Credit count and per-credit price both change the total, so compare the total, not the rate.
Accreditation: why NASPAA matters
The Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration (NASPAA) accredits graduate public service programs. NASPAA says accredited programs have gone through a “rigorous peer review that assures the degree meets the standards of the public service education field,” and that its seven standards are the quality benchmark used by graduate public service programs around the world.
Both examples above state that they hold NASPAA accreditation. Before you apply anywhere, check NASPAA’s published roster of accredited programs. Also check that the school itself is accredited. Employers differ on how much program accreditation matters, so ask the ones you hope to join.
Careers and pay
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) does not track a single “MPA job.” Two of its groups show what leadership roles in this field look like:
| Measure (BLS) | Social and community service managers | Top executives |
|---|---|---|
| Median annual pay, May 2025 | $80,390 | $108,780 |
| Jobs, 2025 | 231,000 | 3,890,600 |
| Projected growth, 2025–2035 | 7 percent | 5 percent |
| Typical entry education | Bachelor’s degree; some positions require a master’s | Bachelor’s degree |
| Work experience | Typically less than 5 years in a related occupation | 5 years or more in a related occupation |
Social and community service managers oversee programs, analyze their effectiveness and supervise staff. BLS notes that mayors, city managers, county administrators and governors are chief executives of governments, which is why the top executives group is relevant. That group is large and mostly private sector, so its pay is not a forecast for public service.
BLS lists a bachelor’s degree as typical entry education for both groups, so an MPA is optional. It can help with advancement into senior roles, but it does not guarantee a job or a raise. Pay in government and nonprofits varies widely by employer and location.
Public service managers also need people skills. See our guide on leadership and the HR resources.
Typical admission requirements
From the two examples, expect these. Each school sets its own rules:
- A bachelor’s degree in any field.
- A minimum GPA, here 3.0.
- A statement of purpose or letter of intent.
- Three letters of recommendation.
- A resume and official transcripts.
One of the two examples says no GRE or GMAT is required. Some schools also weigh work experience in public service. Ask admissions what applies to you.
How to choose a program
| Question | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Is it NASPAA-accredited? | Check the roster, not just the school’s own claim. |
| What is the total cost? | Credits times rate, plus fees, books and any differential tuition. |
| How many credits and how long? | Our two examples are 36 and 42 credits. Pace changes your timeline. |
| Is it online, in person or hybrid? | Asynchronous courses suit working adults. Some programs have set meeting times. |
| What is the practicum or capstone? | Applied work gives you something concrete to show employers. |
| Will my employer help pay? | Some employers offer tuition help. Ask before you enroll. |
Online course options
If you are not ready for a degree, you can test your interest with individual courses in public administration, policy and nonprofit management. Quality varies, so read each syllabus first.
Disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. VillanovaU is an independent guide and is not affiliated with NASPAA, any university or the platforms listed. Prices and program details come from each provider’s published pages at the time of writing and may change.
Steps to get started
- Pick your sector. Local government, federal, nonprofit and health organizations hire differently.
- Read job postings for the roles you want and note the degrees and experience they ask for.
- Shortlist two or three accredited programs and compare total cost with the checklist in section 9.
- Gather your application: transcripts, a resume, a statement of purpose and three recommenders who know your work.
- Plan the money. Ask your employer about tuition help and the school about aid.
Frequently asked questions
What is a Master of Public Administration?
It is a professional master’s degree that prepares you to manage government agencies, nonprofits and other public service organizations.
How much does an online MPA cost?
In the two examples above, tuition is $730 per credit for 36 credits (about $26,280 with fees) and $696.90 per credit for 42 credits (about $29,270 before fees). Other schools differ, so confirm current prices.
How long does an MPA take?
Neither example page states a length. The credit count and your pace decide it. At 36 or 42 credits, part-time study usually takes longer than full-time study, so ask the program for a sample schedule.
What is the difference between an MPA and an MPP?
An MPA usually emphasizes managing public and nonprofit organizations. An MPP usually emphasizes policy analysis and quantitative methods. Check each school’s course list, because content overlaps.
What is the difference between an MPA and an MBA?
An MPA focuses on public and nonprofit organizations. An MBA focuses on businesses.
Is NASPAA accreditation required?
Not for every job, but NASPAA describes its standards as the quality benchmark for graduate public service programs. Check the roster and ask your target employers whether they prefer it.
Do I need an MPA to work in government?
No. BLS lists a bachelor’s degree as typical entry education for the related manager and executive groups. An MPA can help with advancement.
How much do social and community service managers earn?
BLS reports a median of $80,390 a year for social and community service managers in May 2025, and $108,780 for top executives overall. Individual pay varies with employer and location.
Browse certificate, course and degree programs side by side.
